

Men's Soccer

Season Box-score

Games Played	Win (2pts)	Loss	Draw	GF-GA	Standing
12	5	0	7	20-8	1 st (22pts)

*Playoffs – Lost in OUA East Semi-final

This season held some uncertainty and there were many more changes to key positions. Fortunately, it would work well for an historic regular season for Carleton Soccer. Mike Zaborski returned as captain and it was the final year for him. This Raven team goes undefeated for first time in Carleton Soccer history with a 5-0-7 record. Only 5 wins, and an astounding 7 draws!



This was a veteran squad as even a few of the rookies were local players who had either transferred from Ottawa University (with no varsity Men' soccer program) or played with local clubs. Goalkeeper Eric Peters had a big season, and he needed to. This team had no true back-up goalkeeper, strangely enough, however versatile defender Jamie Nelson was up to the task when called upon.



Banging out a 6-0 win over a decent Ryerson team on the final day of the season had the Ravens team feeling confident going into the playoffs. Many of these players hadn't lost

a home game for nearly two years, so hosting in the first round seemed a good omen. Unfortunately the season would end in a disappointing home playoff loss to U of T, on penalty kicks 4-3, in the OUA East Semi-final. The heartbreaking part was the fact that Carleton was up by a goal and looked to be assured of the win when a U of T player was sent off late in the match. But the Varsity Blues tied it up in injury time, and eventually went on to win in penalty kicks.



Eric Peters and Jamie Nelson were the goalkeepers, with Nelson also playing out at times when needed. Phil Cragg, Andrew Wooldridge, Greg Gallo, Ian Rowe, Naoki Ogaswara, Kyle McHenry, Bryan Luck, Lee Powell, Cam Barr and Dan Deganutti returned. James Aire, Tariq Khan, Sam Asner, Andrew Glascott and Ian Thornton were rookies this year.



ALUMNI

Stevie Ball officially becomes President of men's soccer alumni (CSAA) taking over from founder Mike Lanos who produced a constitution –framework for running the organization and its principal goals and registered the CSSA as an official chapter of the Carleton University Alumni Association. Executive members Claudio Mirella and Marty Lauter gave way to Basil Phillips, Joe Gabor and Jeff Knight. Dan Deganutti would also later serve as Alumni Treasurer. Joe Gabor launches first ever CSAA website May 9, 1996. This website went a long way in promoting the Alumni Association specifically, keeping us informed and in touch while further developing Carleton Soccer culture in general. These early days of the CSAA were the foundation for what we have today.